Weekly Skagit COVID Crushers Commendation recognizes winners, nominees

Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Main News Photo

The Skagit COVID Crushers Commendation, a weekly award recognizing individuals or groups stepping out of their busy lives to help others during the pandemic, named its final recipient last week.

In all, there were six recipients including Eddyline Kayaks President Scott Holley, the Skagit County Health Department, Image 360 Owners Tony & Tina Asp; Childcare Aware Coaches Ariana Salazar, Maria Velazquez Salazar, Jaime Thompson and Josephine Escalante; Skagit County Food Banks and Emergency Food Network, and Janicki Industries’ Andy Bridge and Bryan Harris.

The commendations were featured every Saturday in the Skagit Valley Herald.

The Skagit COVID Crushers Commendation program was created in the absence of the annual Terry Belcoe Skagit Change-Maker Award, which was canceled this year due to the COVID-19 outbreak.  The organizations that normally administer the Change-Maker Award -- EDASC, Community Action of Skagit County, North Coast Credit Union, Skagit County Public Health and United Way of Skagit County – then came up with the Skagit COVID Crushers Commendation.

The results were inspiring. With the support of Skagit Publishing, the sacrifices and community support of the COVID Crushers Commendation recipients were recognized weekly.

The final publication of the Skagit COVID Crushers on May 23 again highlighted the six winners while displaying the many nominations that were not published.

Unpublished Skagit COVID Crushers Commendation nominations included SPARC Preschool Teacher Juliene Wall, Skagit Attitudes of Gratitude’s Rena Larsen, Mountain Glen Retirement Living, Allstate Insurance’s Annette Booth, Max Dales’ Paul and Danny Pickering, Skagit County Deputy Administrator Kayla Schott-Bresler, Skagit Gleaners’ Morgan Curry, Tulip  Town, and Northwest Youth Services’ Adair Brown.

Click here to view the final COVID Crushers ad published in the Skagit Valley Herald. The annual Terry Belcoe Skagit Change-Maker Award will return next year.

Category: (none)